Life As A Consultant

“God hears your pray even if it’s unspoken”, that term is definitely true. My friend once asked me what I want to become when I graduate. All of my friends already knew who they want to work with. Me? Not even close. At that time, I didn’t know where I want to work or who I want to work with. My answer was ‘I want to be a consultant and a lecturer, and as a consultant I want to have my own company and maybe become an entrepreneur someday. I don’t have to wear formal clothes all the time and I can adjust my work time whenever I need my free time’. Sounds too ideal, right? Who doesn’t want to have a work-life like that?

Now it’s finally come true, one by one. God really hears prayers. Although part of being a lecturer and entrepreneur is not yet come to reality, but I believe it’s just a matter of time. Sooner or later I’ll become what I pray for. I am on the right path, thank God.

Being a consultant is far from easiness. It is a tough job. A consultant to a client is like a doctor to a patient, he/she should know anything that his/her client wants and needs. A consultant has to learn, know, answer, and explain anything to the client in a suitable way so the client can fully understand. As a consultant, it’s impossible for me to meet a client with the exact same cases. Every client is unique. The more you finished your client’s problem, the more experiences you have. Client’s problems are your portfolios. I enjoy my role very much and I’ll try hard to become a good consultant who’ll never back off from no matter how hard the cases are. Being a consultant is a lifetime-learning but it’s really fun yet challenging profession.

Anyway, it’s still a long way for me to reach my working-goal. I finally can say that I’ve found my passion in this profession. I hope you, the reader, already found your passion for working, and best of luck for you who aren’t found your passion yet. Because working without passion (or goals) is like walking without knowing your destination. You’ll keep walking but didn’t realize how far you’ve walked and maybe in the intersection you missed the opportunities to become the greater you. Who knows? ;)

I’ll catch up with you later and by the way I make new tag/categories to post anything about my experiences as an Electrical Engineering Consultant in “Consultant’s Life”. Wish me luck!

~p.r.p.l.p.h.r.z

Jakarta, September 5, 2014

2 thoughts on “Life As A Consultant

Leave a Reply

