Dear Kid #3 – Be Careful of What You Wish For

Pray.

Pray.

Dear kid,

I know this proverb who says “When your heart is heavy, it makes you bow in prayer”. Kid, it is true. Whenever you feel you have big problem, you should remember that you have God who is bigger than your problem. So, pray for Him to help you solving your problem(s). :)

But allow me to say this to you, kid. Whenever you have the opportunity to lower yourself and pray, please be careful of what you pray for. Because it might come true, sooner or later. You are free to pray anything you want. No one can stop you for sure.

I would like to share my story to you if you are willing to read/listen. I once had a wish, so I prayed for it. I had my wish granted surprisingly, but I wasn’t satisfied. Say, it was lack in something. Then I lifted my hands and pray for the second time. I prayed for God to give me same thing but with better criteria (based on my side, of course). God heard, and He gave me what I prayed for. It was my second prayer for the same thing with different criteria. Still, I was not satisfied. I prayed again and again and again. But the results are always the same. God gave me what I wanted (He heard exactly what I wished for, word per word) but I always unsatisfied with what He had gave to me.

At that time, I was so desperate and ready to blame God. But then I realized, if there was one person to blame then it must be me. It was me who pray, who ask for everything. And God only made all of them happened. I should be happy, shouldn’t I? I should be grateful, but I wasn’t.

Then kid, I realized this. Sometimes what we thought is the best for us, it isn’t and it won’t be the best for us no matter how hard we tried. We won’t find happiness in that thing. It might be the best for us, based on our point of view but not from God’s point of view. We are lacking in experiences, you know. We might be stubborn and selfish sometimes, but not admit that God knows the best is like to not believe that Chicago is -40 degrees celsius nowadays. It’s too shallow I know, but what I am trying to say is how do I know if Chicago is -40 degrees celsius now if my aunt who is currently living in that city didn’t tell me? I do believe her, because she never lied and because she is my aunt. Get the point?

Dear kid,

Always pray to have eyes that see the best in people, a heart that forgives the worst, a mind that forgets the bad, and finally a soul that never loses faith in God. Always pray for the best in God’s version. You may thank Him later when you finally knew His scenario.

Have a bigger heart than mine! Xoxo.

:)

~p.r.p.l.p.h.r.z

Leave a Reply

